DonateDonateJoinPicture of the Thomas Jefferson memorial in the background with cherry blossoms in the foreground.Donate 

Congratulations to the 2013 winners of District of Columbia Library Association Awards

10 Jun 2013 4:51 PM | Deleted user

Four impressive librarians, and one impressive organization, received awards on May 23 at the DCLA Annual Banquet. Thanks to all of you who nominated a worthy colleague, and start thinking about nominations for next year!  -- The DCLA Awards Committee (Jennifer Manning, Kathryn Ray, Barbara Conaty, Betty Landesman)

Ainsworth Rand Spofford President’s Award: Lubuto Library Project

Based in D.C., the award winning, innovative Lubuto Library Project provides the vulnerable children of Africa with high quality libraries and educational and social services. Under the inspired leadership of librarian Jane Kinney Meyers, the Project brings books and hope to the street children of Zambia, and serves as a model to the D.C. international aid community as how to appropriately assist libraries abroad. Many D.C. area librarians have benefitted professionally and personally through volunteering with the Project

In Bemba, “Lubuto” means knowledge, enlightenment, and light. Visit the Project’s website at

About the Award

Ainsworth Rand Spofford (1825-1908) was the sixth Librarian of Congress and the first President of DCLA. Spofford transformed the Library of Congress from a small reference library that served the U.S. Congress into a national institution serving the American public.

The Ainsworth Rand Spofford President’s Award recognizes contributions to the development or improvement of library and information services as evidenced by outstanding achievements in leadership, advocacy, outreach, or the creative application of technology.

Distinguished Service Award: Barbara Conaty

Barbara Conaty has long been an active member of DCLA and currently serves as a Director. This year Barbara re-affirmed a longstanding relationship between DCLA and the Maryland Library Association, and negotiated a new agreement between DCLA and the Virginia Library Association, allowing DCLA members reciprocal registration at MLA and VLA conferences and other events. Barbara is most celebrated for her many years as the creative and inspiring editor of the DCLA newsletterundefinedfirst called the Intercom, and later called Capitol Librarian.

Barbara recently retired from a distinguished, and well-travelled, federal career with the Department of State and the Library of Congress.

About the Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes outstanding contributions of leadership and participation in the District of Columbia Library Association.

Elizabeth W. Stone Outstanding New Leader Award: 
Christopher J. Corrigan and Rebecca Trinite

Christopher Corrigan, Digital Reference Librarian with the Library of Congress’ National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS), and until recently Adaptive Technology Instructor at DC Public Library, was nominated for “his work supporting the programming and presence of DCLA”. He has organized programs for DCLA and ALA, is working to redesign the DCLA website, and works with classes at Catholic University. He is a recent graduate of Catholic University of America’s School of Library and Information Science (CUA SLIS), and is Vice President/President-Elect of the CUA SILS Alumni Board. Chris is also incoming Director for Special Populations with ALA’s Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA).

Rebecca Trinite, Internet Architecture Librarian at ASRC Management Services, is a recent graduate of University of Maryland’s iSchool.  Since joining the Board of DCLA two years ago, Rebecca has served the various roles of Membership Secretary, Chair of the Membership Committee, Webmaster, and all-around indispensable IT guru. Stepping into the role of Systems Director this year, Rebecca has tirelessly worked to streamline and improve the behind-the-scenes technology that supports the Association, including working to redesign the website, migrate the listserv and domain registration, and archive the former listserv.

About the Award

Debuting this year, this award honors a recent library/information school graduate who is making substantial contributions to his or her employing library or the DC area library community.  Honorees should have earned their library/information science degree no more than five years ago. This award is named in honor for former DCLA President and Catholic University Library School Dean Elizabeth W. Stone.

Community Service Award: Abby Yochelson

Abby Yochelson of the Library of Congress has chaired the DCLA Financial Aid Committee and has served as President of the Library of Congress Professional Association.  In her Capitol Hill community, she is a school literacy volunteer with Everybody Wins!DC, and has enthusiastically recruited over 60 colleagues to the program. She also serves as the volunteer coordinator for the increasingly popular Literary Hill BookFest.

About the Award

This award honors those who volunteer their library expertise to develop or improve library or literacy services, programs or facilities unrelated to their employment.

Mailing Address:
Union Station
 50 Massachusetts Ave. NE
P.O. Box 1653 Washington, DC 20002
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software