DonateDonateJoinPicture of the Thomas Jefferson memorial in the background with cherry blossoms in the foreground.Donate 

Seeking nomination​s for DCLA Awards

20 May 2014 5:58 PM | Deleted user

We are currently accepting nominations for the following District of Columbia Library Association awards:

 Elizabeth W. Stone Outstanding New Leader Award

 This award made its debut last year and  honors a recent library/information school graduate who is making substantial contributions to his or her employing library or the DC area library community. Nominees should be DCLA members, have at least two years of DC area library work experience, and have earned their library/information science degree no more than 5 years ago. The inaugural award winners were Christopher Corrigan and Rebecca Trinite.


Ainsworth Rand Spofford President’s Award

 Named for the first president of DCLA, this award recognizes outstanding, long-term contributions to the development or improvement of library and information services.  This was awarded in 2012 to Nancy Gwinn, past DCLA president and current Director of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries, and in 2013 to the Lubuto Library Project.


Distinguished Service Award

 This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the organization by an active, current member of DCLA.  This was awarded in 2012 to April King for her activities with the DCLA Board and the Children’s and Young Adults Interest Group, and in 2013 to Barbara Conaty for her long service to the DCLA Board and the DCLA newsletter.


Community Service Award

 Candidates for this award must have volunteered their library expertise to develop or improve a library service, program, or facility unrelated to their employment. The nominee must demonstrate a significant level of service and commitment that directly benefits the community in the greater Washington area. Preference is given to current DCLA members. This was last awarded in 2009 to Richard Huffine for his dedicated leadership of the Federation of Friends of the D.C. Public Libraries, and in 2013 to Abby Yochelson for her work with the Literary Hill BookFest, Everybody Wins! DC and the DCLA Financial Aid Committee.


For full awards criteria and lists of past winners, please see . Since DCLA membership is  required for some  award categories, please also check the Membership Directory on the DCLA website.

  Please keep in mind that we do not issue awards in every category every year. 


To nominate a worthy colleague (there are no forms to fill out!), please contact Jennifer Manning, Awards Chair, at  or 202-707-7565. Please submit nominations by Tuesday, June 3rd.

Mailing Address:
DC Library Association
 2 Massachusetts Ave. NE
 Unit #: 1653
Washington, DC 20013
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software